Skip to main content
WE'RE CELEBRATING: FREE SHIPPING ALL WEEK LONG!
What is Love?
What is Love?
What is Love?
What is Love?

What is Love?

$17.99
A beautiful fable about the nature of love from beloved award-winning picture book creators Mac Barnett and Carson Ellis.

"What is love?" a young boy asks. "I can't answer that," his grandmother says, and so the boy goes out into the world to find out. But while each person he meets—from the fisherman to the actor to everyone in between—has an answer to his question, not one seems quite right.

Could love really be a fish, or applause, or the night? Or could it actually be something much closer to home? This tender, funny tale is an original take on the "I love you" story and a picture book treasure for all ages to read and cherish.

A CLASSIC LOVE STORY: A wonderful narrative voice and spectacular pictures give this book the feel of a modern classic.

A BOOK THAT KIDS AS WELL AS PARENTS WILL ENJOY: Many books about the love between parents and children are told from an adult's point of view. This book begins from the child's perspective, and it's funny and unexpected in ways that kids can relate to, while being thoughtful in ways that adults will appreciate. Like all great children's books, this book can be understood on many levels.

A BOOK ABOUT FINDING YOURSELF: The little boy's journey takes him to many different people, whose descriptions of what love means to them is very much about how they see themselves and their lives.

A GREAT READ-ALOUD: The engaging text is full of surprises and the distinctive voice of the narrator invites audiences to respond.

STAR TALENT: Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author and a beloved figure on the school speaking circuit. Carson Ellis is a Caldecott Honor winner and illustrator of some of the most interesting and beautiful children's books published today. They're an incredible creative duo and longtime friends, working together for the first time on this children’s book.

Perfect for:
  • Fans of Mac Barnett and Carson Ellis
  • Parents and grandparents, educators, and librarians
  • Adding to the shelf alongside classic picture books like The Runaway Bunny, Guess How Much I Love You, and Love You Forever