Skip to main content
WE'RE CELEBRATING: FREE SHIPPING ALL WEEK LONG!
Principles of (E)motion
Principles of (E)motion

Principles of (E)motion

$18.99

Lessons in Chemistry meets advanced mathematics in a heartwarming, STEMinist novel about a female genius who solves a famously elusive problem known as “the Impossible Theorem” only to struggle with anxiety and the prejudices of her field when challenged to prove that the proof is her own. For fans of Linda Holmes and Katherine Center.

 

A brilliant mind needs a strong heart.

Mathematical genius Dr. Meg Brightwood has just completed her life’s work—a proof of a problem so impenetrable it’s nicknamed the Impossible Theorem.

 

Reclusive and burdened by anxiety, no one took Meg seriously before. Now everyone wants to get their hands on what she alone possesses—especially her own mathematician father. Having grown up a prodigy in a field plagued by sexism and plagiarism, Meg opts for a public presentation so there is no doubt of her authorship. But a panic attack derails her plans. Defeated, Meg returns to the decaying house where she lives alone and locks away the one and only manuscript of her proof.

 

Then chance sends her the unlikeliest of allies. Isaac Wells—carpenter, high-school dropout, in trouble with the law. And the one love of Meg’s life. Fifteen years ago, they never did more than hold hands. Now adults, they reach toward each other through the minefield of the past and find a tenuous space where they can love and be loved for who they are.

 

But when Meg goes to retrieve the Impossible Theorem, she finds it missing. Will she fight for the achievement of the century and the love of a lifetime?